Thanks for visiting the Australian Open Website. We can see you’re using Internet Explorer, and wanted to let you know that we will no longer be supporting this browser in future. We’d recommend you download a new browser if you'd like to continue keeping up with all of the latest tennis news!


Tournament info

There are two perpetual trophies presented to each of the male and female singles winners of the Australian Open.

Norman Brookes Challenge Cup (Men's) is named after the late Sir Norman Brookes (1877-1968), a former Australian tennis champion. It was first awarded to Fred Perry at the Australian Championships in 1934

Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup (Women's) is named after the late Daphne Akhurst (1903 - 1933), a five times singles champion and was first awarded to Joan Hartigan at the Australian Championships in 1934.

Every year, Partner and Official Trophy Manufacturer of the Australian Open, ABC Bullion handcrafts the full suite of players trophies from 100% Australian Silver. The suite includes the coveted replicas of the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup and the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup taken home by the AO women’s and men’s singles champions. ABC Bullion has also created the doubles, wheelchair, junior, legends and runners-up trophies as well as the commemorative plates for finals umpires, with all 2024 trophies featuring precious metals sourced from Newmont’s Cadia Mine.