Australian Open qualifiers bound for Melbourne

  • Tennis Australia

Thirty-two players have begun their Grand Slam journey, winning their way through qualifying and preparing to compete at Australian Open 2021, which will take place at Melbourne Park from 8 to 21 February.

Sixteen women including two-time Australian Open and Roland Garros doubles champion Timea Babos (HUN), Australian Open 2012 quarterfinalist and former world No.1 doubles player and Roland Garros 2012 finalist Sara Errani (ITA), Wimbledon 2010 semifinalist and US Open 2020 quarterfinalist Tsvetana Pironkova (BUL) and inspiring British star Francesca Jones will make the trip down under after qualifying in Dubai.

On the men’s side qualifiers include 17-year-old ATP Newcomer of the Year Carlos Alcaraz (ESP), former world No.12 Viktor Troicki (SRB), USA’s Michael Mmoh, Elias Ymer (SWE) and Australia’s Bernard Tomic (Qld) have earned their AO main draw spots after qualifying in Doha.

Hosting Australian Open qualifying offshore – with the women in Dubai and the men in Doha - was an historic first for the tournament and an innovative solution to some of the logistical challenges presented by the pandemic.

“We appreciate the assistance of our friends and colleagues in United Arab Emirates and Qatar for hosting Australian Open 2021 qualifying due to the current travel restrictions into Australia,” Australian Open Tournament Director Craig Tiley said.

“I’d like to thank the Brandplus team of Bharat Godkhindi, Kay Godkhindi and Sagari Godkhindi and all their staff for organising women’s qualifying in Dubai, and to the Doha team of Nasser Al-Khelaifi, Karim Alami and the Qatar Tennis Federation who have led the charge to help us stage the men’s event.

“From the beginning of our AO planning we were determined to run qualifying and provide competition and earning opportunities for the players. It’s very rewarding to see 32 of them progress and start their Grand Slam journey. I look forward to seeing them all in Melbourne for the Australian Open."

A further six women and six men will travel to Australia as Lucky Losers and undertake 14 days of mandatory quarantine with the rest of the international players.

Strict COVIDSafe protocols are in place for the Australian Open as follows:

·         All players must return a negative test prior to boarding their flight to Australia

·         15 flights, none at more than 25 per cent capacity, will bring players into Australia in a 36-hour period from Thursday 14 January

·         Everyone will be tested on arrival and isolated until results are received

·         Once a negative result has been returned players can train within a highly controlled and strictly supervised environment for five-hours per day

·         Players and their teams will be tested every day during quarantine

The Australian Open draw will be conducted on Thursday 4 February.




Greet Minnen (BEL)

Sergiy Stakhovsky (UKR)

Chloe Paquet (FRA)

Michael Mmoh (USA)

Whitney Osuigwe (USA)

Viktor Troicki (SRB)

Timea Babos (HUN)

Roman Safiullin (RUS)

Elisabetta Cocciaretto (ITA)

Mario Vilella Martinez (ESP)

Mayo Hibi (JPN)

Henri Laaksonen (SUI)

Kaja Juvan (SLO)

Carlos Alcaraz (ESP)

Sara Errani (ITA)

Elias Ymer (SWE)

Valeria Savinykh (RUS)

Maxime Cressy (USA)

Tsvetana Pironkova (BUL)

Kimmer Coppejans (BEL)

Francesca Jones (GBR)

Tomas Machac (CZE)

Clara Burel (FRA)

Aslan Karatsev (RUS)

Liudmila Samsonova (RUS)

Botic Van de Zandschulp (NED)

Rebecca Marino (CAN)

Quentin Halys (FRA)

Olga Danilovic (SRB)

Bernard Tomic (AUS)

Mayar Sherif (EGY)

Frederico Ferreira Silva (POR)

See the completed draws and final results here: