Thanks for visiting the Australian Open Website. We can see you’re using Internet Explorer, and wanted to let you know that we will no longer be supporting this browser in future. We’d recommend you download a new browser if you'd like to continue keeping up with all of the latest tennis news!

Junior Championships

Tournament info

The Australian Open Junior Championships is one of the four Junior Grand Slam tournaments played as part of the ITF Junior 18/u world circuit. The event has Junior Grand Slam Grade A points status and has draw sizes of 64 boys and 64 girls in the singles and 32 teams in the doubles. 

Qualifying:  Wednesday 16 January and Thursday 17 January 2019 at Traralgon Tennis Association, free entry for fans 
Main Draw:  Saturday 19 January – Saturday 26 January 2019 at Melbourne Park, AO Ground Pass ticket required

Players must be between 13 and 18 years of age at the start of the main draw singles event and likely require a high ITF Junior world ranking to gain direct entry into the qualifying or main draw event.  

Customers with a Women's Singles final ticket can have access to their seat from 1pm on Saturday 26 January, but Ground Pass holders have access to Rod Laver Arena for the two Junior final matches before the stadium is cleared prior the Women's Singles final. 

Notable past singles winners of the AO Junior Championships include the following:

Boys - Andy Roddick (2000); Marcos Baghdatis (2003); Gaël Monfils (2004); Bernard Tomic (2008); Jiri Vesely (2011); Nick Kyrgios (2013) and Alexander Zverev (2014).  The 2018 winner was Sebastian Korda from the USA.  

Girls - Jelena Jankovic (2001); Viktoria Azarenka (2005); Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (2006 & 2007); Karolina Pliskova (2010) and Ana Konjuh (2013).  The 2018 winner was En Shuo Liang from Chinese Taipei.